Happy New Year!

January 1, 2009 at 11:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Wow. It’s 2009. It seems like just yesterday we were in the midst of the millenium/Y2K hype and anxiety. It’s hard to believe how quickly the time has passed.

I had a great day off from work today and went to the movies with two friends. We saw The Curious Case of Benjamin Buttons. Afterwards we had an interesting discussion about time, stages of life, etc. I’m not going to say too much more because I don’t want to spoil the movie for people who haven’t seen it (I liked it BTW). However, I will say that one of the things we talked about is that our lives now are very different than what we thought they would be when we were younger. In my case there are several kind of “major” aspects of my life that even as recently as five years ago I would have expected to be very different than they are now. It’s not bad that they aren’t different, life has just unfolded differently than I expected it to.

I’m not going to do a New Year’s Resolution post because I really try not to make resolutions. I will say that I joined a gym last month and have been working out fairly regularly. I even signed up for some group training sessions that start next week as well as some individual sessions that I’ll probably use after the group ones are over.

I’m really motivated right now and am trying to establish some good habits and behavioral patterns. I even have a gadget to help out. The heart rate monitor I bought last summer has some cool features. You can conduct a fitness test with it and then use it to create an exercise program based on your current fitness level and goals (e.g. how many sessions, how long to train, intensity, etc.). At the end of the week if you have met the goals you get an “award” that stays on the main screen of the watch for the entire next week. It looks like this:

So far I have received the “award” every week since I started at the gym. I’ve also already done enough work this week that it will be there for all of next week.

Instead of a New Year’s resolution, I have a New Year’s goal. My goal is to have that little trophy on the watch for at least48 of the weeks in 2009. I think it’s a reasonable goal, particularly since I have a good bit of control over what the exercise goals are for each week!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Keep up the good work. Happy Birthday.

  2. Thanks Gunner :)

  3. Woohoo! I need an award.

  4. Good job! Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

