Merry Christmas!

December 25, 2008 at 6:39 am | Posted in Travel | 3 Comments

Yes, I am still alive and haven’t orphaned the blog.  I even have a few specific posts in mind for the next few weeks.  Of course, I’ve been meaning to write them for the last few weeks too. . .

Work is going well.  There was a lot of adjustment at the beginning (new place, different culture, I work with a number of different teams).  I still have a lot to learn, but I’m starting to get an idea of who people are- particularly who I want nothing to do with!  I’ve also found some co-workers with similar work ethics and am even working on a team with someone I had worked with in another city many years ago.

Jesse seems OK so far.  He still isn’t concentrating his urine.  I have some idea what this means, but nowhere near well enough to explain it.  At this point I’m just hoping it’s an individual difference and not a symptom of an underlying disease process.

I’m up crazy early (for a holiday/non-work day) even though there are no children living in this household.  There is actually a good reason though- as soon as I publish this I’m leaving on the 7 hour drive to go see my Dad and sister for Christmas.  I couldn’t leave earlier because of work and my lack of vacation hours (being new) but I’ll get there not too long after they get home from Church so it will work out.  I’m really excited about spending Christmas with some of my family.  This will be only the second Christmas in the last five years I have spent with any family.  Two Thanksgivings were with family during the same time period, so I’ve spent most holidays away from family in recent years.  It will be really nice to be with some of them today.

I want to wish everyone reading this a Merry Christmas.  If you aren’t able to be with family today, I hope that you have someone else special or close to spend the day with.  For those of you who are able to be with family, don’t forget how lucky and blessed you are to be with them, even if it isn’t your entire family.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ho, ho, ho! Merry Xmas to you too.

  2. You resurfaced!!! Glad you were able to be with your dad and sister. What’s next on the agenda? I’m ready for a long weekend away when Chris comes home, so prepare for visitors!

  3. Thanks for commenting- it was nice to see that there are still people reading too :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

