Changes

November 7, 2008 at 12:17 am | Posted in Blogging | Leave a comment

I know it’s been a while since I posted, but don’t worry- I haven’t orphaned another blog. There have been some changes in my life recently that I’d like to call small, but I guess are actually kind of big. Since my last post here I worked my last day at my old job, moved over a thousand miles and am now days away from starting a new job.

When I wrote about my grandmother’s death, I called myself a “Geographic Orphan”. The move kind of brought some of that back. I had developed some strong relationships in NJ and wasn’t very excited about moving away from a newly developed support system again. I know a lot of my readers are military or milspouses and you’re probably thinking “Boo hoo, poor you” while rolling your eyes right about now, but I really do feel like it is different when you are a civilian moving in and out of different civilian communities. The movers are in the minority. Even though I had already made the decision to move, and I do think it is the right decision both professionally and personally, separating from the life I had in NJ was difficult. The two days of freezing rain and snow during my last week there made it easier, but it still wasn’t what I would call fun.

This blog has been changing over time too. I’m not sure exactly what it is changing from or what it is going to be. I don’t expect it will become a very focused blog like deployed milblogs are and I won’t be writing about work, but there are some issues that matter to me that I will be posting more about. Just don’t expect much in the way of political posts-those tend to attract too much attention from the kind of commenters I don’t want to encourage. I do like reading them however and encourage you to check out the new blog Four Horsemen of the Obacalypse. I’ll be reading there and maybe even commenting from time to time. Anyway, thanks for sticking around.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

