New Additions to the Blogroll

October 28, 2008 at 7:26 pm | Posted in Deployment, Interesting Reads, Military | 5 Comments

I wrote once before about one part of blogging I don’t like- orphaned blogs. Now I have been guilty of orphaning a blog or two in the past, but it was always after no more than a handful of posts and generally no readers other than spambots. A lot of the milblogs that I have come to enjoy reading have been orphaned. I tend to keep the links in my bookmarks for quite a while and go back checking for updates. I’m usually disappointed, but every once in a while I get lucky.

Recently, an orphaned recruiter milblog has come back to life. Station Commando had a blog (Recruiting Tirade) when he was a recruiter. Recruiters seem to have a pretty high blog orphan rate BTW. Anyway, SC is back and posting under the title Conversations in the Desert. From his first few posts it sounds like he’s been through a lot since the old blog, but has found his way through. Other than the goodbye post, his recruiting days are no longer in the archives. However, he is now serving in Afghanistan and is posting about his deployment.

I also have a new link up on the sidebar for Embrace the Suck by Mud Puppy (as far as I know he hasn’t orphaned blogs yet). Mud Puppy is about to head to Afghanistan and has been posting since mid-Summer. I know I had to have ended up at his blog from a link, but have no clue where it was. He’s got some pretty funny posts, just be forewarned that he definitely has an infantry-style sense of humor. I have to tell you that I am amused to no end by his nom de plume.

Every time I see a comment or post with his blog name, I have flashbacks to a college zoology course. The course had a lab where we dissected a number of different creatures including….a mud puppy. The ones we dissected were basically like the salamanders you see in pet stores on steroids. My lab partner and I were doing fine until we had the mud puppy opened up and were trying to identify the reproductive system. When we compared the insides to our books we were kind of confused and had to call the TA over. Once she was at our station the TA confirmed our suspicions- our mud puppy was a hermaphrodite. Keep this story in mind when you read his posts and maybe you’ll understand a little better why the connection amuses me so much.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi: I think I clicked on your name on the comments on Embrace the Suck and want to say thanks for the link to Conversations in the
    Desert. I was in Afghanistan in the early 70’s and read all kinds of milblogs but especially appreciate the blogs from there. Thanks for the addition. Looks like we read a lot of the same blogs. My son is deploying to Iraq – stationed in Kuwait – in Dec. He is a pilot of a C-130 so not the “boots on the ground” kind of guy but still – he will be deployed in a war zone. It isn’t as “hot” as Afghanistan is – war wise – but I am a Mom. Anyway thinks again. Take care. lorraine

  2. Thank you for the comment Lorraine- sometimes I wonder if there are people visiting the blog or just machines :) For what it’s worth, I think it’s perfectly reasonably for you to worry about your son- my mom likes me to call when I fly places in the US so she knows everything went all right. Blackfive, the Mudville Gazette and Lt Nixon Rants have been great sources of milblogs for me- especially the daily round-up by Mrs. G at Mudville.

    I hope to see you around here again.

  3. Only your mud puppy would have an issue like that. That’s going to crack me up all day. Boy I need to get a life…

  4. This is my first visit to your blog…found you via milblogging-recent addition.
    I’ve been a MudPuppy fan for a while, along with Mudville and Lt. Nixon-great reads out there!
    I’ll be back to read you again soon!

    ~AirmanMom returning to her blog…

  5. Thanks for stopping by AirmanMom. Sorry for the delay in responding- I was off the net for a while. I’ll be back to posting soon though.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

