Another Odd Sign

October 26, 2008 at 1:17 pm | Posted in Travel | 2 Comments

I recently took a trip to Florida. A lot of it was filled with busywork, but there were a few events interspersed amidst the boredom that made me go hmmm? One of the first actually occurred at the airport. As far as I can remember, this is the first time I’ve ever traveled from NJ to Florida at the beginning of winter. The plane was loaded with old people. There were over half a dozen who boarded the plane on wheelchairs (8- I counted) plus over a dozen more who obviously really needed to pre-board and wisely used this option. Almost half of the passengers on the plane boarded during the pre-board process. I’m not exaggerating when I say that the mean age of the passengers on the plane had to be around 74. It was kind of surreal to find myself in the middle of the snowbird migration.

I like to take pictures of odd sights and signs that I see while traveling and I saw a few signs this trip that made me do a double take. Unfortunately, I was driving and wasn’t able to whip out the camera and take a picture of any of them. However, I did find a picture of one very similar sign through an image search (the others I couldn’t find). Actually, I found images of several different variations of this sign, which honestly surprised me, but this is the closest to the one that I saw. I can’t help but wonder where this is going to end. Eventually there will be so many specific signs that no one will pay attention to any of them!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When you say ‘sign’ and ‘double take’, I immediately thought of when I first saw the illegal alien x-ing sings on the Cali roadways. Have yet to see those senior signs in person, though.

  2. The funny thing about the senior sign is that it was by a hospital. I wondered why they didn’t have them up for people using crutches, etc. also! I haven’t seen the illegal alien x-ing signs myself and can only imagine what my reaction would have been if I hadn’t been pre-warned.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

