“Orphaned” Milblogs

August 28, 2008 at 9:34 pm | Posted in Blogging, Deployment, Military | Leave a comment

I’ve been reading milblogs for long enough now to recognize that many of my “favorites” are going to have a short lifespan. A minimum of 1/3 of the milblogs bookmarked in my web browser are no longer regularly updated. It’s different than the blog orphaning I’ve been guilty of in the past, but I would imagine the reasons for orphaning vary from milblogger to milblogger.

Today I received an email from a milblogger whose blog has gone long enough without being updated that I had actually removed the bookmark from Firefox. It was from Thunder6, the author of 365 and a Wake-up (I’ll be posting something separate about the email he sent later). Two and a half years had passed since his “Welcome Home” post. I recognized his blog as one of my daily “must reads” that has been orphaned and hoped that the email meant he was back to blogging. While there is one newer post on his blog (from this past June), the opening statement makes me think he won’t be blogging on it anymore.

It has been a very, very long time since I have had the opportunity to write in this online journal. Truth be told I have had the opportunity – I just lacked the ability. Although I wanted to bring some kind of closure to this journal it has always been – and will always remain – a war journal. And when you aren’t immersed in the blowtorch reality of combat it can be a little difficult to write about the emotions those situations give birth to.

I hope that he was able to gain the closure he sought.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

