Texas A&M Fish Drill Team

July 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Aggies, Military | 7 Comments

Outlaw 13 at Guidons, Guidons, Guidons! has a post up about the US Army Drill Team with a really great video of them in action (he found it via Kathy at Brazoscowgirl). I like watching precision in action with drill teams like this.

Of course, my absolute favorite drill team is the Texas A&M Fish Drill Team. The Fish Drill Team is a volunteer team of Freshman members of the Corps of Cadets at Texas A&M. There are a upperclassmen who stay on to help train and instruct the new members, but the team itself is reconstituted every September at the beginning of the school year. This doesn’t stop them from being the best. In fact, the Fish Drill Team has won four consecutive national championships (most recently in February of 2008) competing against teams that don’t restrict themselves to just freshman. Here is a short video of them I found on Youtube this afternoon:

Most of you have probably seen the Fish Drill Team in action without even realizing it. Hollywood used them to serve as the Marine Drill Team shown at the beginning of the movie A few Good Men. Here is a clip of them from the movie:

I promise this blog isn’t going to become an A&M only blog, seeing the post by Outlaw 13 just brought this to mind.  I have a lot of good memories of my time at A&M.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh I had to come here! Then I had to watch more drill precision! I see we have the same taste! Nothing better than a sharp dressed man with a gun that can move!

    Thanks to Outlaw! And you!

  2. I’m glad you liked the video Kathy. I’m also pretty fond of the Fighting Texas Aggie Band- they have some great moves!

  3. I don’t know if you know but we actually won 5 in a row In Wash DC from 1968 to 1972 in a competition judged by the Old Guard. I carried the guideon for the 2nd Champs in April 69 and was advisor for the third in a row in 1970.

    My senior year 1972, on Mother’s Day, we had representatives of all 5 nat’l Champs on the drill field while that years group did its thing…

    Lastly, my brother and I Richard believe we are the only brothers to ever carry the guideon on 2 different teams…his was Class of 69 in 1965. His team was the one that won at Purdue resulting in our first invitation to DC the next year. He was soph. advisor on that first DC trip in 66, the team won 2nd. The next year started the run of 5 wins – then I understand they stopped having the meet in DC.

    I didn’t know if your count of 4 included this ancient history.

    Dave Calvert Class 72.

  4. Have never seen these clips before but they brought back a lot of memories (FDT class of ’57). Was surprised to learn the Marine Drill Team in A Few Good Men were actually the Fish Drill Team. Maybe the movie should have been named, “A Few Good Freshmen”.
    Have had some rough roads but, after 53 years, I’m now classified a ‘sergebutt’ and still working on getting that Aggie ring. Who knows, maybe the Ross Volunteers in a year or so.
    Gig Em Ags,
    T. A. Smith
    Conroe, TX

  5. Major thanks for the post.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on…

  6. Hey Dave Calvert. I was on the team with you when we won the 1969 National Chamionship. What a special team we had. It was special competing in DC…especially getting “suited up” in the senate committee room. I hope you realize how lucky you were as guidon bearer…Can’t forget those 5 mile runs with our Springfield’s at high port.

  7. Man Bill – I can’t believe this stuff still comes up after so many years…Yep – and don’t forget being in 2nd / 7th at Hood with about a dozen other Aggies including Kim
    Mote and one other guy whose name escapes right now from that team!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

