Look at that Face!

June 30, 2008 at 9:49 pm | Posted in Blogging, Dogs, Military | 1 Comment

I was checking out the pictures at the Multi-National Force – Iraq website today when I saw this picture:

Play Time

The caption for the photo is:

Play Time

U.S. Marine Lance Cpl. Max W. Donahue plays with Paco, his military working dog, in Lahib, Iraq, June 16, 2008. U.S. Marine Corps photo by Lance Cpl. Stuart Wegenka.

Don’t you love the expression on Paco’s face? Nothing is going to distract him from keeping his eyes on that Kong. The drool will be coming off that tongue any second too.

This picture made me think of one of LT. Nixon’s recent posts about milblogs that come and go. Too many milblogs that I have come to really enjoy reading have either come to an end when the servicemember redeployed or have been halted either due to official reasons or personal ones. Some of the really good ones are even taken down completely (most recently Kaboom by LT. G).

I made the connection to LT. Nixon’s post when I saw this picture because it has been quite a while since Sgt. Dowling posted at K9 Pride. I’ve written about Military Working Dogs (MWDs) a number of times on this blog and I think you all know how much I respect the work of the MWDs, their handlers, and everyone who supports them. I really enjoy reading posts written about MWDs from the perspective of the handler…someone who has “been there and done that”…and I hope Sgt Dowling starts posting again soon. Maybe a few encouraging words in his comments section will bring him back?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. U.S. Marine Lance Cpl. Max W. Donahue just passed away today, Aug. 6, 2010.

    R.I.P. Max :(

    http://maxdonahue.agi32.com/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

