One more MWD Photo and a Link

April 29, 2008 at 10:00 pm | Posted in Deployment, Dogs, Military | Leave a comment

I have one more Military Working Dog (MWD) photo I just have to share. I went to the website for Multi-National Force- Iraq (MNF-I) today and this picture was in the photo gallery. The website has links to official press releases, published articles (non-military publications) and generally also has at least 3 or 4 articles written by the Public Affairs Offices of the currently deployed forces.

Toward the bottom of the MNF-I home page is a box displaying several pictures from the photo gallery. The pictures change regularly. If you click on a picture it will enlarge in the same window and you will see buttons you can use to scroll through the gallery. The pictures cover many different aspects of daily life in Iraq, both for deployed servicemembers and civilians.

I’m posting this picture for two reasons: (1) I think it’s cute and (2) the dog in the picture (Lasso) reminds me of a German Shepherd my family had. If I was asked who was the best dog ever, my current dog or the GS, I’d be hard pressed to make a choice. It was very sad when he had to be put to sleep. This picture made me remember the good times and why he was such an amazing dog for our family. Plus, like I said, it’s cute!

( LAP IT UP- Lasso, a military working dog, takes a drink from handler Staff Sgt. Joseph Kirkey’s water bottle during training at Victory Kennels, April 27, 2008. Photo by Sgt. Joy Pariante, 13th Public Affairs Detachment.)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

