MWDs in action

April 29, 2008 at 8:00 am | Posted in Deployment, Dogs, Military | Leave a comment

I’ve been posting on MWDs quite a bit lately. I had intended to write just one post, but it got so long that I broke it into two…then people asked questions and I found myself discovering all kinds of cool stuff on the internet to use in posts. I even received an email from a blogger who served in Iraq as a Marine K9 handler (check back later today for more about him and his site). Anyway, during my exploring I found these two photos.

I’ve seen MWDs in harnesses like this before- I think I even remember seeing one of an MWD hooked up to his handler and parachuting in somewhere (I’m 99.9% certain I’m not making this up). Both of the pictures above were taken by Spc Aubree Rundle, US Army and can be found here. The “official” descriptions of the photos are:

BAGRAM AIRFIELD, Afghanistan (July 15, 2007) – 1st Sgt. Dean Bissey hooks the hoist harness to Staff Sgt. Michael Hile and his military working dog “Rronnie” (spelled with two “Rs”). Photo by Spc. Aubree Rundle, U.S. Army.

and

BAGRAM AIRFIELD, Afghanistan (July 15, 2007) – U.S. Army Staff Sgt. David Hornsby and his special security dog Liza are hoisted into a helicopter during a canine-hoist training mission outside of Bagram Airfield, Afghanistan, on July 15, 2007. Hornsby and Liza are attached to the101st Air Assault Division. Photo by Spc. Aubree Rundle, U.S. Army.

Things like this fascinate me (dogs being hoisted into helicopters?!) and I just had to share the photos.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

