Wordless Wednesday # 11 (Final)

April 23, 2008 at 9:56 pm | Posted in Baking, WW | 6 Comments


This is the end product of my little “project”. I made this cake for a co-worker’s birthday. It was the first time I had ever used this pan or made this particular recipe. I am very happy with the way it tasted and mostly happy with how it looked. I would have been happier if I had been able to find some nice strawberries to put on top as well. There were some comments left on my previous WW pictures asking for more information, including from one of my first two readers, so I am writing a post to go with this image. Click below if you want to know more.

This cake was made in a Daisy shaped Mary Ann Pan. I had never even heard of Mary Ann Pans until I saw this one in a Williams-Sonoma Catalog. They no longer carry the pan, so I can’t link to it online (Sorry). The only good thing about it being discontinued is that I was able to get this one on clearance sale! Anyway, A Mary Ann Pan is shaped so that when the cake is turned out of the pan there is a depression at the center of the cake that can be filled. They are usually just round with scalloped edges, but this one is a nice Daisy Shape. I just found this example of a traditional Mary Ann Pan at Amazon after a google search. I’m sure there are others you could find online as well. They were first introduced in the 1920’s and were popular many years ago, but not so much today.

This is what the pan I used looks like:

For this cake I used the recipe that came with the pan for a “Daisy Ann Cake with Lemon Curd and Berries”. It can still be found in the Recipe Section of the Williams-Sonoma website. The recipe is for a fairly basic cake, although it is more dense than a layer cake would be in order to be able to withstand the weight of the filling in the center. The filling is made with 1 cup of lemon curd (I used store bought, but WS also has recipes for this) that has freshly whipped cream folded in (1/3 Cup heavy cream whipped to medium-firm peaks). It was the perfect combination of tart and sweet- not too far in either direction.

I love the way the cake tasted. I haven’t made a cake or dessert based on a Williams-Sonoma recipe that I haven’t liked and this one was no exception. Their recipe database online is pretty extensive, but recipes do eventually go away. (This one is my favorite “Main Dish” recipe from the site. Gunner and ABW both liked it when they visited).

I will make this cake again in the future, but I have some ideas for something different to try the next time I use the pan. I am going to use a chocolate mousse for the filling with fresh whipped cream and raspberries on top. I might even make a raspberry sauce to go with it although that might be overkill. I also need to experiment with making the cake part chocolate flavored as well.

I love experimenting with new recipes and coming up with my own baking creations based on recipes I have tried and enjoyed. Thankfully my co-workers are willing to be my guinea pigs when it’s time to taste my creations. They haven’t complained about it yet…unless you count begging for me to bake more often.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Anything with lemon curd tastes good. Anything. Save me a slice!

  2. I had never heard of those cake pans before. Sounds tasty and, fairly, easy. I don’t think a light raspberry sauce would be overkill, but I love raspberries!
    Thanks for sharing, i will searching at WS for recipes.

  3. Can you mail cake? Looks good.

  4. The recipes at WS really are good. They also print them in the catalogs and I tear out any that look good before I throw the catalogs away!

    I don’t think this cake would survive the mailing Gunner. I am looking for good cookie recipes to mail over there though (there are “rules” about what should and should not be used so they don’t go rancid- I just have to find them again).

  5. Hi, I’m looking for the Daysi Ann Pan. I’d like to know where can I find it, even used. I’m from Brazil and will pay any price and all taxes to buy it. Really, even used. Please, help me.
    Thank you.

    Simone

  6. I’m sorry- I bought mine years ago and haven’t seen another anywhere else. Maybe Ebay or amazon.com? I wish I could be helpful, but I really don’t know.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

