Someone is Begging for Attention

April 19, 2008 at 6:02 pm | Posted in Interesting Reads, Military | 12 Comments

Those of you who have read here for a while know that, from time to time, I like to link to blogs I find interesting and write a little post about them. Heck, one of the reasons ABW wanted me to start this in the first place is so that she would have a blogroll to go through and read! In the past this is something I have done on Sundays since many of you won’t read it until Monday anyway, but it can’t wait this time.

I think I included a link to LT Nixon’s blog, LT Nixon Rants, in one of my previous posts, but I just don’t remember. I do know that he hasn’t gotten his “own” post yet. Now that he is begging in his own comments for hat-tips and links, I guess I should probably post something for him. It does appear from what he wrote in his comment that he is a bit mistaken about my gender (100% female). He is a sailor currently stationed in Baghdad though so we have to cut him some slack as he is like a fish out of water these days and all. I just needed to clear the whole male-female issue up before he goes too far with his bartering (Don’t worry LT, I don’t expect any kind of a “special” thank you for this little post). Hopefully he won’t consider the video at the end mean after this post either. Of course, given his attraction to Dear Abby, Heather Locklear probably won’t get him too fired up.

As I said, LT Nixon is a sailor currently stationed in Baghdad. From what I have read, he is a submariner and did some time in Hawaii (doesn’t seem like he liked it there very much). He is a prolific poster, although I don’t know if this is because he enjoys writing or because he’s just bored and looking for some attention. He blogs semi-anonymously. Lt Nixon is not his real name, but the Navy could probably figure out just which sailor in Baghdad he is if anyone wanted to try.

The blog is an interesting mix of posts. One category that I think will appeal the most to the readers of this blog is the “Iraq News” series. He posts a daily recap of news from Iraq with brief summaries of The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly, including links to stories from a variety of news sources. Today’s Iraq News includes information on the shopkeepers in Basra who can now sell alcohol and romantic songs and movies again (The Good), the latest American casualty (The Bad), and what he called the “shenanigans” of my second-favorite group of crazy political leaders the Iranians (The Ugly) as well as other news about Iraq. I have a hard time classifying the rest of the posts. His use of the term “rants” in the blog title is undoubtedly a good choice as many of the posts cold be qualified as rants. For example, he doesn’t seem to be too fond of his own generation (no link this time- browse through the archives and find the stories for yourselves!). He also seems to have attracted a very eclectic group of regular readers and commenters. I read, and even comment from time to time. I consider myself semi-normal and some of the other regular commenters are also at least semi-normal. Some though…..some are crayzies. That’s actually half the fun of his blog- reading the comments!

As I said earlier, LT Nixon was recently begging for links in his own comments. I’m not a relative or friend and have never met him, so this isn’t shameless blog-whoring like when I link to ABW. The man clearly has some needs that just aren’t being met in Baghdad. Maybe a little linky-love will make him feel better. I have a plan that I need your help with. First, watch this video of Heather Locklear:

OK, here is the plan. I don’t have a huge readership and can’t send thousands of people his way. However, I do have a few friends (more than two even!) and I think I can probably get at least two of you to help out with the plan. After much thought I have decided to call out ABW (big surprise, eh?) and…..Erin. Yes, Erin I called you out. Any friend of ABW’s is a friend of mine, so blame her! I think that Gypsy at Heart is going to help out with the plan even if I don’t call her out, but ABW and Erin are so busy single parenting while their husbands are deployed that I think I have to actually call them out for them to respond. Otherwise it just wouldn’t make the priority list! The rest of you can participate as well, the more the merrier. I just need at least two people to follow through.

Here is the plan:

1. Visit LT Nixon’s blog and take a look around.

2. Write a post about LT Nixon at your own blog. Say ABWF told you about him, you heard there was a lonely sailor on the internet, whatever floats your boat. Include a link to his blog, the Heather Locklear video (or a link to it) and call out two of your friends. This campaign needs to go viral! Make sure that the two people you choose to link to are people who will follow through (like I know ABW and Erin will). Give them the same instructions as listed here.

3. Come back to this post and leave a comment with a link to the post at your blog and the names of the people you have tagged. Hopefully whoever you tag will also drop by and comment with a link to the post at their blog as well.

4. Sit back and watch the Faberge’ Organics Rule in action.

Don’t let me down ABW and Erin! LT Nixon needs you…like the movie said, “Let’s do it for our country, our country wants us to!”

P.S.- If you are reading this and don’t have a blog, leave a comment for LT Nixon either here or at his own blog. Help cheer up a lonely sailor!

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ABWF,

    You are good people! I’m quite shameless in my self-promotion as a subtle form of ironic jest. I’m really quite modest in person, I swear! Thanks for the lovin’.

  2. You’re welcome LT Nixon…I’m not so sure about the subtle part (or the modesty in person), but I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt. You should have some visiting and linking from ABW and Erin soon. I would call it linky-love, but their husbands in Iraq might not like it.

  3. P.S.- Someone has already stumbled upon this post as the result of an internet search for “Heather Locklear”. I have a feeling this post isn’t quite what he looking for.

  4. Tanker at Mostly Cajun has joined in the fun. He even added LT Nixon to his blogroll.

    As always, don’t forget to check out “The Name Game” at Mostly Cajun on Sundays. There is a link in my blogroll if you haven’t already bookmarked it.

  5. Make sure to check out the posts on the Good, Bad, and Ugly over in Iraq. Nothing like a view from the front….

    I linked to him here.

  6. ABW,

    I wouldn’t exactly call the Green Zone the “front”, but I do have imperial visions and powers much like Darth Vader. Speaking of which, once Vice President Cheney gave my co-worker a thumbs up while visiting a month or two back. Coincidence? I think not.

  7. I left a comment, per your instructions….

  8. LT N- comparing yourself to Darth Vader is an interesting choice. You do know that he was eventually killed by his son after joining the “dark side”, right? I also have some thoughts on the Cheney thumbs up, but I’ll keep them to myself for now. Wouldn’t want to challenge your delusions/imperial visions too much.

  9. LT N- comparing yourself to Darth Vader is an interesting choice. You do know that he was eventually killed by his son after joining the “dark side”, right? I also have some thoughts on the Cheney thumbs up, but I’ll keep them to myself for now. Wouldn’t want to challenge your delusions/imperial visions too much.

  10. Gypsy at Heart- thanks for visiting and leaving the LT a comment. I must say though, when I read it I couldn’t figure out if you were referring to his choice of blogs to link to or to mine :)

  11. Meh,

    The Navy IS the dark side.

    Oo-rah, LT.

  12. Welcome to the party SGT Murphy


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

