Who gets to choose?…..An Update

March 15, 2008 at 5:44 pm | Posted in Rants | 2 Comments

At the beginning of the week I wrote a post about an experience I had recently while trying to fill a prescription.  I read an article at about the same time that discussed the lack of oversight for foreign manufacturers of pharmaceuticals and pharmaceutical components and the impact on generic medication quality.  Well, I have an update.  Today I read this story.  Apparently the FDA is working on an agreement with China to place American regulators in China.  This is a good step.  It’s unfortunate that the plan is only for 8 regulators (who will work with 5 additional Chinese employees) given that there are over 700 Chinese manufacturers who are known to produce medications or ingredients for medications in the US, but it is a start.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I imagine it will take a huge catastrophe before the US or the Chinese are more proactive in the regulation of these medications.

    I didn’t realize that there was a lack of regulation, which is my fault, but the thought that I could give my child something that would injure them/kill them, terrifies me.

    I think I will ask when I get her medication on Wed where it comes from. Wonder what good ol’ Walmart will tell me.

  2. I didn’t realize the regulation was so lax either. Heparin and heparin components from foreign manufacturers are currently in the news as having “problems”. Let me know if Walmart actually has an answer for you, it wouldn’t surprise me to find out that the people at the pharmacy have no clue where the medication and its ingredients came from.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

