Trip Report #2- The Second Day Begins

February 8, 2008 at 6:37 pm | Posted in Travel | 5 Comments

My first day in DC with my brother and SIL we had dinner at the Cheesecake Factory. Even without appetizers we were too full after our meals for dessert so we did the only sensible thing given the circumstances. We each ordered a piece of cheesecake to go. I sure am glad they chose a hotel with mini-fridges! We made a few stops after dinner, with the longest being at a bookstore. Apparently my SIL really misses being able to shop for English language books at places with a decent selection.  She had browsed her way through several large bookstores already. My brother wasn’t as enamored of multiple long visits to large bookstores :)

After the bookstore, we headed back to the hotel. We were all pretty tired, so we separated for the night and plans to meet at 8 to head out to the “free” hotel breakfast. I stayed up a little later than I planned watching something on tv (and eating my cheesecake). I managed to drag myself out of bed and into the shower in the morning though. I was on the very last step of getting ready (one that I could skip if necessary), when I heard a knock at the door. I was grateful that my brother and SIL had decided to give me a little extra time as it was after 8 already.

I opened the door and it was my SIL- my brother was nowhere to be seen. When I asked, she said that he was in the hotel room getting dressed. Because she was wearing the same clothes from the night before, I assumed that he had beat her into the shower and she was going to get ready after breakfast. She came in and we watched a little bit of tv while we waited. It took my brother quite a while to show up at my room. Imagine my surprise to open the door and find him also dressed in the same clothes as the day before with hair that barely looked touched by a hairbrush. Apparently I didn’t really understand the instructions for the morning. “Meeting” around 8 really meant crawling out of bed sometime around 8.

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I am not a morning person. It was very strange for me to be the one person out of the three of us who was awake, bathed, and dressed in clean clothes before breakfast. Probably the only time in my life I will have this kind of bragging rights. There was one immediate benefit as well- my brother and SIL each stayed in my room with me while the other was getting ready. It was nice to be able to spend some “down time” with them and I had some pretty good conversations with them both.

I’ll post more over the weekend about what we did during the second (and last) day of my visit.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A late riser and a slowwwwww dresser. :)

    I still love you though.

    I’m the queen of the two minute shower now, but I have ALWAYS been a morning person. I loved 8 o’clock classes in college and loved to get them all over and done with by 11!

  2. I can get up and get ready on time when I have to- I just don’t like it :) The earlier I have to be ready to go, the more time I have to allow myself. Unless it’s a long-term thing, then I can sometimes manage to “reset” my sleep cycle. I still need “wake-up time” in the morning though. Until I’ve had it I am a bit of a grouch!

  3. You a grouch???? I just can’t imagine that!!! LOL

  4. Can’t waste a moment when you are on vacation!

  5. I was ready on time and ready to go- I had the train trip home to sleep!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

