More on “Those Wacky Brits”

February 7, 2008 at 7:28 pm | Posted in Bizarre News | Leave a comment

I posted recently about a chain of furniture stores in the UK that was marketing a “Lolita Bed” for young girls. Apparently the cultural reference inherent in “Lolita” was missed by pretty much everyone at the company (See here for the post). Gypsy at Heart posted a follow-up where she proposed that censorship in the UK had resulted in a generation of individuals who were not exposed to the movie or the book and that this likely explained their lack of familiarity with this cultural reference.

As I said in my original post, I haven’t read the book or seen the movie and yet I know the connotations of a “Lolita” bed for young girls. However, Gypsy at Heart’s premise made sense to me and I thought I should probably cut the employees of this chain some slack. Until I saw two posts with links to this story published in the Telegraph. It reports on a study in Britain that found, among other things, that one fifth of respondents thought Winston Churchill is a fictional character, and more believe that King Arthur and Camelot were real than believe Richard the Lionheart was real.

Both Neptunus Lex and Guidons, Guidons, Guidons! have posts with links to this story. I’m not sure whose I read first, so I’m crediting them both Lex and Outlaw 13 with pointing this one out.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

