Whose Idea Was This?

January 29, 2008 at 9:57 pm | Posted in Bizarre News, Military | 5 Comments

Tonight I stumbled across a story posted at Military Times that absolutely shocked me. I’ve read that a lot of different things get mixed in with the bombs in Iraq, but before this story I had only read about items like ball bearings and pieces of metal being added to create shrapnel.

I was speechless when I read this:

As silly as it sounds, Army intelligence officials here say U.S. forces have found several weapon’s caches containing large bags of cocoa powder along with different bomb-making materials. Apparently when mixed with ammonium nitrate, cocoa powder produces a more spectacular, sensational explosion.

I’m guessing the author doesn’t mean that the bombs smell better when writes that cocoa powder based bombs are more “sensational”, but cocoa in bombs? Who came up with the idea to try this? Clearly I missed something in my HS and college chemistry classes.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When you sprinkle cocoa powder over a fire it will actually burn. When you throw a bunch over the fire it makes a big fire ball.

  2. Weird. I didn’t know that. I knew there was a reason I married you Gunner. :)

  3. You would think with all the styrofoam cups we melted in camp fires over the years someone would have known about the cocoa powder.

    What I really want to know is how Gunner knows this information? How much personal experience do you have creating fireballs?

  4. I had an idea we sent too much hot chocolate to him on that last tour.
    Where do you come up with these ideas, ABW friend?

  5. Uh-oh. I was sending him hot chocolate last time too :)

    I followed a link to a different post on the blog at Military Times and ended up finding this one a little bit farther down. I’m a bit of a chocoholic, so I was pretty shocked that people actually waste cocoa like this. It was so absurd that I just had to post about it.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

