Hobbies

January 28, 2008 at 8:57 pm | Posted in Baking | 4 Comments

Although I do have family and friends who are either currently serving or who have served, I am not in the military, not a milspouse, and was not raised in a military environment. Despite my lack of a direct military connection, I’ve come to have a strong interest in milblogs. One of the ones I like to read is SpouseBuzz. It’s kind of strange seeing as how I am not a military spouse, but I love reading the posts and comments from military family members. Today there was a post titled Milspouse Hobbies. I read the comments and think I may have found a secret twin from whom I was separated at birth.

In her comment, HH7 wrote:

I would say it’s more like I have great intentions of getting into a hobby but never really have the time to sit down and focus thanks to a full time job and the usual errands and chores that need to be taken care of on days off. Although this last deployment I managed to take up cake decorating and actually got quite a few projects done from start to finish.

Other hobbies? Can I call them that? Ummm…finding new recipes to try out in the kitchen (they end up shoved in a drawer never to be tasted), scrapbooking (have all the supplies and plenty of pics, no time to put it all together on a pretty sheet of paper), reading (stacks of books piled up and collecting dust), and learning to sew (brand new machine, plenty of fabric, again…no time).

I have mastered the weekend afternoon nap though. That’s my favorite! ;p

This comment is so me. Well, with the exception of having to deal with deployment-related stress. Reading has been a lifelong hobby of mine, I love to try new recipes, I have bought (and not used) untold amounts of scrapbooking supplies, and I barely know how to sew. With the sewing I try to rationalize not using the machine by reminding myself that Mom never finished teaching me how to use it, but I know there are plenty of self-help books and that just isn’t a valid excuse.

With cooking, I enjoy trying all different kinds of recipes but baking is probably my favorite activity in the kitchen. Recently I have developed a fondness for the fancy NordicWare cake pans that borders on obsession. I’m too embarrassed to admit how many of the pans I own, but I will show you the newest one in my collection. For my last birthday my co-workers gave me this Octopus Cake Pan:

It was an absolutely perfect gift for me. I was as excited as a four year old on Christmas morning. Last week we celebrated the birthday of another co-worker and I baked a cake in the Octopus Pan for his birthday. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

(If I managed to insert it correctly, the picture should enlarge when you right click it)

Baking and decorating the cake was a lot of fun. This particular pan came from Williams-Sonoma and a recipe was included with the pan for a cinnamon flavored cake with a sweet glaze. I made the lavender icing and used pastry bags and decorating tips to make the suction cups. Smartees candies were used to emphasize the larger suction cups. I also used some raw sugar on the sides of the cake to simulate sand and (attempted) to use icing pens to add seaweed on the sides. I need to work a bit more on the seaweed, but overall I am happy with how it turned out. Another co-worker has requested a pink one for her birthday, so I guess it went over well :) Even better, ABW and Gunner gave me a gift card for Williams-Sonoma for my birthday. I think I’m going to start using it by buying myself this:

Thanks Gunner and ABW!
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad you like the gift card! Can’t wait till you make some cakes for us. Ab’s birthday is around the corner, hint hint.

  2. I didn’t like the gift card….I love it. I would be very happy to bake for all of you- Abs included. Does this mean you are coming up here for a visit?

  3. Hmmmm…..there’s one of you and 5 of us…..you should come here!

  4. But what would I do with Jesse?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

