First Post

January 25, 2008 at 4:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I’m pretty sure a grand total of one other person will end up reading this (Hi ABW!), so it seems kind of silly for me to even write this explanation. However, from what I’ve seen in the blogosphere it does seem to be obligatory for bloggers to start things off with a “Why I started my blog” post. So, this is mine.

If you have read my “About Page” already, then you know I am starting this blog as a result of extreme peer pressure. OK…. extreme is a bit of an exaggeration.  I am starting this blog because my friend ABW can be extremely persuasive when she wants to be. ABW (aka Army Blogger Wife) and I have been friends for over twenty years. We tried to figure out exactly how long tonight and ended up settling on 23 years. It’s kind of a compromise. We met at summer camp and became friends either 22.5 or 23.5 years ago. Old age has made my memory a little unclear and three children (four if you count her husband) appear to have done the same for ABW. Either way, we’ve been friends for so long that it seems like we have always been friends.

Ever since she started her own blog ABW has been telling me that I need one. She actually seems to think that someone other than the two of us will find some of the stories from my life to be funny. I’m not sure about that, but I’ll give it a try. I do have to admit, this isn’t my first blog. The others haven’t lasted long. They were so pitiful even I didn’t want to read them. I was pretty sure no one else would be interested, so they died off.

For me the hardest part of starting a blog has always been choosing a title. It seems like everything I want to use has already been claimed by someone else. When ABW and I were emailing back and forth about this the other night I jokingly suggested starting one called “Friend of Army Blogger Wife” to chronicle the story of her husband’s deployment from my perspective. The title changed a bit and I’ll post about more diverse topics than her husband’s upcoming deployment, but that will be in here too. Her life is so much more interesting than mine.

I don’t promise to post every day and might not even make weekly. To be honest, right now my goal is to continue posting long enough to hit a double digit post count! Like I said before, ABW is persuasive and she knows about this blog… I have a feeling she’ll do her best to *encourage* me to reach my goal. That’s what friends are for, right?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s great! Of course I want to see you follow through on this. Especially if you say nice things about me. :)

  2. Of course I have nice things to say about you ABW :)

    According to another blog tradition, I think this makes you my blog-mother. When does my allowance start?

  3. Well, lady, since you have me on your blogroll, I have you one mine…

    Good luck! Post often!

    MC

  4. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll MC. With any luck my posts here won’t make you second guess this decision.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

